top of page

Yet to Meet

"Do you remember the way we found each other?"


She asked me a simple question, but it gave me pause, leading my mind to wander, with a soft smile lingering on my lips, to how it all began.


I rolled my eyes and rubbed my forehead when my Nokia (so you know it can cause real damage) slipped through my fingers and landed flat on my face. I tried to chuck my phone away, not wanting another smack to my face, but a new notification stopped me from throwing my phone away. I bit my bottom lip when I saw a new comment on my book. It was from a new user, too.


"Awesome"


That was it. But that single-worded compliment paved the way to all the other delightful comments that I had received from the user. The comments were so sincere, so heart-warming that I couldn't help but thank them. Thus, I found myself messaging them directly, not expecting to hear from them in return.


But I did.


We have often discussed what would have happened if she had never replied to me, or if she never left those amazing comments on my book and I wouldn't have written a thank you note to her. Being the voice of reason, she assured me nothing would have changed and she is probably right.


But I knew that I would have missed out on getting to know someone who had and continues to change my life in the best way possible. I would have kept on living my life without meeting someone who is so alike me, but also so different in all the right ways. I would have missed out on the laughs we share every day, the existence of a curve on my lips because of her, the dirty jokes we exchange with such swiftness but mostly, I would be deprived of a true friend in my life.


As a rule, I always avoid making relations with people online because building a relationship online just provokes my paranoia, triggering my trust issues. So, it was both shocking and exciting that I found myself breaking my rule for someone I had never met.


I still haven't.


It is my first time breaking such an important rule of mine since I take my privacy very seriously, but after a blissful year of our friendship, the leap of faith that I took with her only reminds me that she is worth it.


"How can I not?" My smile widened as I began typing my response to her question, "it was awesome."

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires

Noté 0 étoile sur 5.
Pas encore de note

Ajouter une note
bottom of page