top of page

Caves

Updated: Sep 13, 2022

Dearest Dewta,


I saw a girl today.


I narrowed my eyes, furrowed by brows, as I normally do to see better even when I was wearing my glasses. My breath hitched, in my throat, as my eyes noticed the dark bruises underneath her eyes. My God, was she beaten up? I looked again, more closely now, and sure enough, she was beaten but it wasn't a physical mark. I blinked my eyes and the bruises were gone and in their places left bags too heavy and tiring for her to carry.


She was not only walloped emotionally, but maybe even spiritually, she was battered.


My eyes finally met hers and a sense of melancholy set within me. There was something sinister about her. No, wait. Sinister was the wrong word. She was different, not like others. But her eyes, shuddered me to my very core. They were caves, dark and empty, beckoning me to a path thoroughly trodden. I wanted to look away, but I was mesmerized and I began walking into the tunnel of darkness. It was quiet in the beginning, too quiet, and suddenly I felt my mind go numb. But my limbs were working perfectly so I moved along.


I shouldn't have.


When I got out, I was bent over, grasping for air. I could no longer close my eyes for I am haunted with vivid images of demons playing games on her mind; a monster trying to abuse her and finally succeeding; her body being poked with knives of judgement and harsh and unkind words; people swimming in a striking red river as her heart bled. I straightened myself and chanced a glance at her again and I saw a small but sad smile grace her features as if gently whispering in my ears,


"Now you know how it feels."


Dewta, I saw a girl today.


She stood before me, not uttering a single word. I wanted to help her, but I didn't know how. I could feel her begging for help, but I felt useless. She asked me if I was scared of her; I didn't answer. I just looked at her and she smiled, broadly this time, understanding my answer. I took a step forward, she took one back. I wanted to help her, I really did. But she seemed far, too far away. She was right there before me, but gone. She was already gone, only stayed her body.


I yelled for her and the mirror burst out into pieces. The shards of glass laid on the floor, broken just like me.


Shattered just like my soul.


Your daughter,

Majoni.

Recent Posts

See All

2 kommentarer

Bedømt til 0 ud af 5 stjerner.
Ingen bedømmelser endnu

Tilføj en rating
Ankit
Ankit
09. sep. 2022

Your observation is really so great 👍

Synes godt om
Mrigakhi Das
Mrigakhi Das
09. sep. 2022
Svarer til

Thank you Ankit

Synes godt om
bottom of page